Who we are

The Calgary West Central Primary Care Network (CWC PCN) is a non-profit organization committed to a healthier future. Doctors who join our network do so with their patients in mind. We develop innovative health programs and services that family physicians can access for their patients at no cost.

The CWC PCN is involved with more than…

physician members

Our services

We provide:

  • Clinical support for physician practices through our team of regulated health professionals (including nurses, social workers, and psychologists)
  • Patient care at our centralized after-hours clinic, the Primary Care Centre (available by Health Link and physician referral)
  • Patient-centred services that support the health needs of our communities, including senior services and social work
  • Mental health support through our team and community partners

Research shows that people who have a relationship with their family doctors are healthier, live longer, and are hospitalized less. We help build strong doctor-patient relationships through innovation, collaboration, compassion, accountability, and respect.

What is primary care?

Primary care refers to the services you receive for your everyday health needs. It includes your family doctor, as well as referrals you may receive to other parts of the health system when needed.

What is a Primary Care Network?

A Primary Care Network (PCN) is a community-based organization of family doctors and healthcare professionals who work together to provide primary care to patients. Each network is unique and has the flexibility to develop programs and provide services that meet the specific needs of its patients. This grassroots approach allows — and encourages — PCNs to focus on the needs of local patient populations.

Our catchment

The CWC PCN serves Calgarians who live and work in west-central communities (an area bordered on the north and east sides by the Bow River, on the south side by Anderson Road, and to the west by the city limits).

We are situated on the traditional territories of the people of the Treaty 7 region, which includes the Blackfoot Confederacy, the Tsuut’ina First Nation, and the First Nations of the Stoney Nakoda. This is also the land of Métis Nation of Alberta, Region 3.